Don’t kill the messenger but the Big East apparently has a lot of convincing to do in another sport besides football when it comes to commanding national respect.

Or maybe the Big East just needs to convince Tim Weiser, chairman of the Selection Committee, who also happens to be deputy commissioner of the Big 12 Conference.

  • Louisville was the only Big East team selected to compete in the NCAA Baseball Tournament.
  • Meanwhile, eight teams were picked from the Big 12: Baylor, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas A&M.
  • Oklahoma State (32-22) received an at-large bid despite not making the Big 12 tournament. The Cowboys, who had a 9-16 conference record, were apparently rewarded for their tradition and strength of schedule, despite having a 22-19 record against top 100 teams.
  • Other members of the committee: Bobby Staub, Louisana-Monroe; Gary Overton, East Carolina; John Anderson, Minnesota-Twin Cities; Pat Murphy, Arizona State; John Hardt, Bucknell; Lynn Thompson, Bethune-Cookman; Kyle Kallender, Big South Conference; Brian Quinn, California State; Chris Monasch, St. John’s.
  • Time spent making the selections:  Not known.
  • Also unknown:  Whether the committee actually met or the members were simply content to receive a copy of the brackets from the chairman.
  • Here’s a link to the brackets.

Share this

By Charlie Springer

Charlie Springer is a former Louisville editor and sportswriter, a public affairs consultant, a UofL grad and longtime fan.

One thought on “Louisville Only Big East Team In NCAA Baseball Tournament”
  1. A preponderance of available evidence seems to indicate that Weiser probably made the picks himself at a Big 12 Conference backyard beer blast over Memorial Day weekend. What a joke. The other members of the committee probably never showed up.

Comments are closed.