Lacrosse Anyone?

The Big East seems to be on course to create a seven-team lacrosse league. Don’t look for the University of Louisville to get involved anytime soon.

U of L has a women’s lacrosse team but doesn’t field a men’s team.   Someone at Belknap Campus probably spent a little time studying Title IX issues in recent months, arriving at the conclusion that now is not the time.

Associate Big East commissioner James Siedliski (the successor to Tranghese?) says, “There are still some institutional issues that are being worked out, but I’m extremely optimistic that when push comes to shove we are going to have it.”

A seven-team conference featuring Syracuse, Notre Dame, Georgetown, Rutgers, Villanova, St. John’s and Providence is expected to begin play in 2009.

“The landscape of Division I men’s lacrosse is shifting in a dramatic fashion,” Siedliski said.

Currently the seven Big East men’s lacrosse-playing schools are dispersed in five locations SU is an independent; Notre Dame is in the Great Western; Georgetown, Rutgers and St. John’s are in the ECAC; Villanova is in the Colonial; and Providence is in the MAAC.

The last obstacle to the league disappeared when Syracuse, which has won more NCAA championships (10) than any other school, agreed to give up its cherished status as an independent. Syracuse’s first losing season since 1975 was a good thing, helping to convince the Orange to make the switch.

Share this

Charlie Springer

Charlie Springer is a former Louisville editor and sportswriter, a public affairs consultant, a UofL grad and longtime fan.